Fairfax Virginia Reckless Driving Divorce DUI Traffic Child Custody Laws|Lawyer County

L64atqrfe Boiw Tac706okse Wd280nygi7

In Virginia, reckless driving is punishable as a Class 1 misdemeanor.  The penalties for a class 1 misdemeanor as follows:  Confinement in jail for not more than twelve months and a fine of not more than $2,500, either or both.

If you have been charged with reckless driving (exceeding speed limit under Va. Code 46.2-862) in Virginia and are concerned about the punishment you may be facing, then contact us for help.  We have defended many traffic tickets in Virginia and we can help you as well.

Below is a sample case of a reckless driving ticket in Virginia as interpreted by a lawyer in our firm.

Have you been charged with Reckless Driving in Virginia and you are wondering what the penalty cost is in VA?

Are you concerned about the consequences of being charged with Reckless Driving in Virginia and you are wondering what the penalty is in VA?

For a lot of our clients, a charge of Reckless Driving can result in the loss of their job, their security clearance, etc.

Reckless Driving Virginia Fine

Don’t risk going to court without a lawyer, if you have been charged with a crime of Reckless Driving in Virginia.

We have client meeting locations in Fairfax Prince William Richmond Loudoun Virginia Beach Fredericksburg Lynchburg.

Contact our law firm today to speak with a lawyer today about your Criminal Case.  An attorney from our firm will do his best to help you.

The lawyers in our law firm have the necessary experience to assist you with this matter.  We will do our absolute best to help you get the best result possible based on the facts of your case.

Commonwealth v. Jackson

Facts:

Defendant was charged with driving under the influence of intoxicants and with speeding 55 miles per hour in a 25 mile per hour zone. Both charges grew out of the same driving activity. Defendant prepaid the speeding charge and claimed that Va. Code Ann. § 46.2-862 converted his speeding charge to a reckless driving charge. Defendant alleged that he was convicted of for his first offense of speeding by virtue of this payment of the fines and cost and therefore he could not be prosecuted for the driving under the influence charge because Va. Code Ann. § 19.2-294.1 prevented dual convictions of driving under the influence and reckless driving.

If you are facing a reckless driving (exceeding speed limit under Va. Code 46.2-862) in Virginia, contact a SRIS Law Group lawyer for help.  You can reach us at 888-437-7747

Holdings:

The Virginia Court made the following holding:
  • Va. Code Ann. § 19.2-294 states that if a defendant is charged with driving under the influence of intoxicants and with reckless driving and he is convicted of one of those charges, then the court shall dismiss the remaining charge. The purpose of § 19.2-294 is to prevent the conviction of two different class one misdemeanors arising out of the same driving acts, when one of the misdemeanors is driving under the influence of intoxicants and the other is reckless driving. Where the evidence supports prosecution under either of two parallel statutes, the Commonwealth has the right to elect under which statute to proceed.

We have client meeting locations in Fairfax Prince William Richmond Loudoun Virginia Beach Fredericksburg Lynchburg

Contact our law firm today to speak with a lawyer today about your reckless driving ticket (exceeding speed limit under Va. Code 46.2-862).  An attorney from our firm will do his best to help you.

Reckless Driving Virginia Fine

Our law firm has the necessary experience to assist you with this matter.  We will do our absolute best to help you get the best result possible based on the facts of your case.

Scroll To Top